Coping / Family / Friendship / Haiku / Health / iPhoneography / Music / Parenting

Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing

20130512-122615.jpg

Photograph was taken by my iPhone 4S of the dark, stormy sky Saturday, May 11, 2013, on the road from Ashburn, Va., to Centreville, Va.

“Don’t You Worry ’bout a Thing” has turned into my most recent theme song. It has haunted me ever since my roomie told me how bad my rendition of it is. (Yes, I have put him on blast for criticizing my bad singing.)

This hit single by Stevie Wonder, is from his 1973 album Innervisions. The song is very bouncy and its lyrics carry a message that focuses on the positive and taking things in stride. Well, today is Stevie’s 63rd birthday and I thought it was appropriate to discuss what this song means to me these days.

I am one who values my true, through-thick-and-thin friends. It’s wonderful to have people in my life who know me and who I know so well that we can finish each others’ sentences or fill in the blanks when it’s silent. They know just when to call, email, hug or grasp my hand. No words necessary. This Stevie song is especially for those friends. I don’t EVER want my friends to think they’re alone in the dark times.

Here’s some of the lyrics to “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing”:

Everybody’s got to pay
But some don’t know how to handle it
Always reaching out in vain
Just taking the things not worth having

Don’t you worry bout a thing
Don’t you worry bout a thing Mama
Cause I’ll be standing on the side when you check it out

You say your style of life’s a drag,
And that you must go other places,
But just don’t you feel too bad,
When you get fooled by smiling faces,

Everybody needs a change
A chance to check out the new
But you’re the only one to see
The changes you take yourself through

Bright skies of Centreville, Va., Monday, May 13, 2013. Photo taken by my iPhone 4S.

Vibrant, blue skies of Centreville, Va., on Monday, May 13, 2013. Photograph was taken by my iPhone 4S. HAIKU: Crying without sound … That insidious C-word … In this together.

One thought on “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing

  1. loving the optimism!! keep it up 🙂 saw mr wonder at bonnaroo a few yrs ago, such an amazing experience

As Frasier Would Say..."I'm listening"