Entertainment / Family

Oscars 2013: Our Picks for Best Animated Feature

Image

Torie’s pick for Best Animated Feature 2013

**BLOGGER’S NOTE: Torie and I were both wrong because after publication, Brave won the Academy Award. I almost picked it though.**

I must say that I’ve never been all that into animated movies until becoming a Mom in 2004. But they are definitely what I see the most of nowadays. So my little one and I watched all of the nominated animated films for tonight. And some I had to rewatch, because I fell asleep on them.

Nominated are:

Brave: Determined to make her own path in life, Princess Merida defies a custom that brings chaos to her kingdom. Granted one wish, Merida must rely on her bravery and her archery skills to undo a beastly curse. Stars Kelly Macdonald, Billy Connolly, Emma Thompson, Julie Walters, Robbie Coltrane, Kevin McKidd and Craig Ferguson.

Frankenweenie: Young Victor conducts a science experiment to bring his beloved dog Sparky back to life, only to face unintended, sometimes monstrous, consequences. Stars Winona Ryder, Catherine O’Hara, Martin Short, Charlie Tahan, Martin Landau and Atticus Shaffer (great fan of his Brick Heck character on The Middle).

ParaNorman: A misunderstood boy takes on ghosts, zombies and grown-ups to save his town from a centuries-old curse. Kodi Smith-McPhee, Anna Kendrick, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Tucker Albrizzi, Casey Affleck, John Goodman and Elaine Stritch.

The Pirates! Band of Misfits: Pirate Captain sets out on a mission to defeat his rivals Black Bellamy and Cutlass Liz for the Pirate of the year Award. The quest takes Captain and his crew from the shores of Blood Island to the foggy streets of Victorian London. Stars Hugh Grant, Salma Hayek, Jeremy Piven, Imelda Staunton and Al Roker (yes, the Today show Al Roker).

Wreck-It Ralph: John C. Reilly, Jack McBrayer, Jane Lynch, Sarah Silverman, Ed O’Neill (Modern Family, Married With Children), Edie McClurg (Desperate Housewives) and Mindy Kaling (The Mindy Project, The Office).

For one thing, if I fell asleep on the movie, it was pretty easy for me to say I wouldn’t vote for it. Torie apparently doesn’t fall asleep on movies. Whether it’s on the Kindle, TV or big screen. I didn’t even remember having watched The Pirates! weeks ago via a RedBox rental. Oh well.

Torie was very set on her choice. “Hands down, it’s ParaNorman,” she says. “The colors, the acting and the action. Come on Mom!”

Well, I stayed awake the most through Wreck-It Ralph and I’m a big fan of Jane Lynch (Sgt. Calhoun) and Jack McBrayer (Fix-It Felix). Their love story was fun. Though Brave was very memorable too. So I bought both of those and have them on my Kindle to watch when I feel like it.

Drumroll please … so we had a coin toss of our two favorite films and Torie won, so we shall unite behind ParaNorman. Democracy at work. Good luck to all of the nominees.

Image

My pick for Best Animated Feature

2 thoughts on “Oscars 2013: Our Picks for Best Animated Feature

  1. I earned a red X on this category, too. Although “Brave” was the only one I was interested in seeing (the trailer alone made me puddle — a redhead thing?), I ended up seeing too much recycled “Mulan” and formulaic muddle in it. “ParaNorman” was great, and I definitely see Torie’s point, in terms of artwork — but it seemed to follow the same storyline as “Brave,” so I couldn’t decide. Once I saw “Frankenweenie,” though, I reasoned that the satire combined with Americans’ obsession with pets, plus the Tim Burton, would pull out a win, so I threw my support behind that. I’m with you, though, in terms of “almost”: I shoulda stuck with the one that made me puddle and Girl Power. My limit on how many animated features I could watch was three, given I don’t have little ones anymore, so I’m relieved I didn’t waste time on the other two.

    • What I’m really seeing as a mom is that when I watch something with Torie I put aside what I may REALLY like or get into on the small or the big screens. (Except for my late-night Sex & the City reruns). My overriding concern when she’s watching with me is “what will she learn from this?” and “will this give her nightmares or some other fear in life?” So my tastes have changed a lot in eight years. And I’ve definitely watched more 3-D concerts (Jonas Brothers and Justin Bieber) and animated features in theaters than I ever did as a child.

As Frasier Would Say..."I'm listening"

