Coping / Music

Music as motivation

I know that many of you can relate to needing some kind of jumpstart when your energy feels zapped. For at least the past five or six years, I’ve missed my high energy levels from the old days. I used to pull all-nighters in college with no problem. What’s up with that? One day my doctors say that I’m Vitamin D-deficient and need more tests, another day, they say I lack iron — and need some more tests. On that, I think they just need to get out of my pocketbook for all of the freaking tests. But I shall save that entire rant for another day.

But for as long as I can truly remember music has served as one of the best motivators for me. When I lived in Tallahassee, Fla., one of my favorites was listening to Patti LaBelle’s New Attitude before heading out of the door. It definitely put a lot of pep into my step “I’m feelin’ good from my head to my shoes…Know where I’m goin’ and I know what to do…I tied it up my point of view…I got a new attitude!”

Others on my motivational playlist:

Happiness, Vanessa Williams
I Gotta Feeling, The Black Eyed Peas
Eye of the Tiger, Survivor
You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet, Bachman-Turner Overdrive
Break My Stride, Matthew Wilder

And The Beat Goes On, The Whispers
Footloose, Kenny Loggins
I Can’t Wait, Nu Shooz
I Wanna Be Your Lover, Prince
Love Is A Battlefield, Pat Benatar
Shake It, Metro Station
Straight Up, Paula Abdul
U Got The Look, Prince & Sheena Easton
We Got The Beat, The Go-Gos

I know that I’m forgetting a whole bunch right now. But I’m actually out and about and being energized by Philadelphia’s cold weather today. So go put on some tunes, sing and dance down memory lane and let me know what are some songs that get you pumped up.

Happy Saturday to you!

