Holidays / Parenting / Social Media / Workplace issues / Writing

Happy 2013 & Helpful Hump Day

As we go into this new year I’ve looked at past resolutions and thought of what I could possibly do to reverse the trend of broken new year’s resolutions.

And it really all comes down to where I get my energy and how to keep that energy and motivation.

Being happy mostly energizes me. When I’m unhappy, things are harder to do and it’s difficult to see the glass as half full, the light at the end of the tunnel or what CAN really be done. That’s sad, because it’s not the example that I want to set for my little one.

I want her to always see the possibilities, know that there is more than one way “to skin a cat” and to keep trying to achieve her goals. Back in the day (yes, I like using that phrase) someone said in a reference letter about me that I had “stick-to-it-iveness.” I love that word, but I do see that with many heartbreaks — personal and professional — I’ve lost that. I’m a lot more cautious with age. I know that the person who smiles in your face doesn’t always want the best for you or want to see you succeed.

Being more cautious is also a drain on my energy. Even when I’m blogging, I have to be careful about how things are worded so that I’m as accurate as possible. That’s the journalist in me. Also, I want people to be able to trust my words. That’s what I love so much about my job as a copy editor. I help build the credibility of my media company every day and help inform the public. I see my job as a public service and always will. It’s very fulfilling.

I want my blog to be a reliable, credible source and motivator for others. So I may just take awhile on some things to research, but I will try to have back-up posts for those times.

Also to help have fewer broken resolutions is to have fewer resolution in the first place. What a concept! There’s only so much one person can really do and I need to recognize my limitations and know what priorities I NEED to have.

Getting regular health checkups for myself and my daughter, taking care of my health, show gratitude daily, think positive and dispel negative influences in my life. They sound like things I should always do anyway.

So much can be done around this set of resolutions. For instance, without my health, I can’t be around to help anyone else in any kind of way. Positive people help me feel good about my life and help to energize me to do whatever needs to be done.

Tell me what energizes you?

20130102-142337.jpg

2 thoughts on “Happy 2013 & Helpful Hump Day

As Frasier Would Say..."I'm listening"

