Social Media / Technology / Writing

PleaseNoMo!

November appears to be something-for-everyone writing month: National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), Digital Writing Month (DigiWriMo), Academic Book Writing Month (AcBoWriMo) and National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo).

I’ve always wanted to write a book, hence the title of my blog, and last year NaNoWriMo seemed like an opportunity to get started. Even if all I did was an outline with some suggested characters, I thought it could be worth it. Well, I made it to a disjointed 17,345 words before I got too busy to make it through the whole 30 days.

I have heard about and seen people get a great start from the annual NaNoWriMo. I will share interesting writing that I see from this month’s various challenges here on this blog and some of the other platforms that I’m on.

Just so that you know: As of 11:30 p.m. Nov. 1, there were 1,264 blogs listed on BlogHer.com blogroll for NaBloPoMo. And my blog shall join the rest as I take part in that and DigiWriMo (where your word count can include Facebook posts, tweets, Instagram, blogging and even emails).

Each of the different writing challenges have rules and goals, but in the end it’s all up to you. Most of them involve writing 50,000 words of some format during the 30-day period. Most of the sites you register for offer tips, groups, meetups and prompts. Writers are a huge community and there’s plenty of support for every endeavor.

And I have NO doubt that November is also home to plenty of other “challenges” for writers and other artistic types. But then again — life is full of challenges that we face head-on, conquer and then move on to the next one.

And boy do I love a challenge and I hope you do too.

20121102-004044.jpg

20121102-004409.jpg

2 thoughts on “PleaseNoMo!

  1. Oh I love the title of this blog. Gave me a good chuckle in the a.m. What is is about November anyway? I’m also doing the 21 day meditation challenge with Deepak Chopra. That and this NaBloPoMo thing seem to be going together fairly well so far. Check it out if that’s our kinda thing. Happy writing!

As Frasier Would Say..."I'm listening"

