Uncategorized

Beginning again

“Excuses are the tools of the weak and the incompetent, that build monuments of nothingness and bridges to nowhere. And those who specialize in them are seldom good at anything else.”

When I pledged Zeta Phi Beta in 1986 at West Chester University (Pa.), we had to recite that poem each time one of us tried to tell a big sister (or big brother) why we didn’t do something. Repeating that had a great impression on me and that whole experience helped put me on a road of no excuses. I started doing things I’ve never done. I took more chances and less Jello shots after pledging Zeta. It was a defining part of my life. Who would’ve thought that pledging a sorority would’ve properly prepared me for Marine Corps boot camp at Parris Island?

As I begin this new blog I look forward to sharing my life as a “weekend road warrior Mom,” an orphan, a sister, a friend, a journalist, an avid reader and aspiring author. I also hope to introduce many of the people I love personally and professionally in this blog through words and pictures.

I know that writers don’t just write anymore — they also market themselves through their online presence. I used to journal every day when I was younger. It was so easy back then: no job, no bills, no child, no men. I am nothing but grateful for what I have in my life right now and as I watch my beautiful daughter grow I know I still have many things to check off of my to-do list.

As I “plan my work and work my plan” in my life’s many roles, I will be sharing it all right here. Thank you for joining me and let’s have some fun and learn from each other.

As Frasier Would Say..."I'm listening"

